I'm just new to TLM. I'd like to discuss some doubts I have. 

1 AT: My understanding of AT is , TLM seperates the commucation to phases . During commucation , callback functions can indicate sender and receiver which phases are they in. In principle, we can create as many phases as RTL has. But  it is not necesssay to be that accurate if my model is fucus on functionality.  Delay parameter is used to modelize the hardware delay.  One question is when should we use AT model. (1) if I want to modelize a protocol , i need accurate time modeling (instead of approximate model)(2) if i want to modelize a computing unit , i don't care the commucation phase at all. 

2 About delay parameter , we can set delay parameter to modelize hardware delay. If TLM model is developed before hardware, how do we know this value? I think it is a general question, in none TLM model, we use wait() to modelize it. If we are not aware of delay in advance, how the statistic from TLM is reliable? 

3 The typical use scenarios of TLM. It is for performance analysis or functionality verification?

Thanks.

Approximately-Timed (AT) models provide decent timing accuracy for modeling purposes. Common use cases include architectural analysis (cost vs performance). AT models are used to understand the effects of interconnect and bus protocols on overall performance.

Loosely-Timed (LT) models provide for simulation performance (i.e. fast), but often use techniques that sacrifice modeled timing accuracy. The intent is for use in software development on virtual platforms. Techniques used include Temporal De-coupling coupled a notion of a Quantum, and Direct Memory Interface. LT models usually try to minimize calls to wait() due to overhead of context switching. Fast models almost never use sc_clock (slows simulation).

Both modeling styles (AT & LT) should be register accurate and functionally correct. Both include timing, but obviously the degree of accuracy differs greatly.