packet transactions are generated by scheduler, need help with sequence class

Hi there,

Please help me on this problem. I am still learning UVM.

I have transaction type "Packet", which is generated by combining different data types like for example

Packet = {D0, D8, D7, D1, D1, D7,D0,D8} where D0, D8, D7, D1 are different data types derived from same base class.

Packet is formed when there are 8 such data types available and generation of all these data types is controlled by RATE SCHEDULER specified by user. At very low rates, packets will be formed after long time.

At times there many not be any Data type, and hence no packet can drive to driver.

In VMM it was easy, whenever Packet was formed, i would push it to driver by using channel. Else nothing is driven.

In UVM, i am not getting how to do.

Below, how should i write body task.

1) I can't have specific number in repeat () because packets are generated on fly by the scheduler.

2) I can't have packets in queue [$], and use for loop in task body, because queue size will keep on changing.

3) What will happen if i call uvm_do(req) macro, but there is no actual packet formed at that point.

class packet_sequence extends uvm_sequence #(packet);

/// taking out new function etc

virtual task body();

// raise objection

repeat(10) begin <-----------------

`uvm_do(req);

end

// drop objection

Please help me in understanding a bit.

thanks.

You can avoid the repeat by using other kinds of loops like while or for, then you can set another kind of exit to the loop, like a flag. In case you have more than one sequence running on the chip, you can synchronize them with a higher level virtual sequence which can set the flag to end the loop.