AMS modeling

Hello All,

I am new to AMS modeling & I have been going through some study material related to Verilog-A/Verilog-AMS.

I have a few questions related to AMS. I hope members here will comment.

1) Is AMS always needed when there is a mix of digital & analog modules in a design. For example, can it not be used for pure Analog modeling when I would like to have abstract analog models?

2) In most of the references, AMS is mentioned as an approach to model design blocks. In my view, AMS has to be used for creating testbench for such blocks. For example, if my design has analog interface then I have to use AMS to apply stimuli to that interface or use AMS to process output from that interface.

Thanks,

This forum is related to SystemC-AMS, not Verilog-AMS. SystemC-AMS is used to model complex heterogeneous systems at an abstract level. Verilog-AMS is often used to model AMS blocks and circuits at the implementation level.

To answer your general questions

1) No. AMS modeling can be used to describe analog and/or digital behaviour, it is just a matter of abstraction. AMS modeling languages support different levels of abstraction. Low abstraction level relates to conservative behaviour, by solving Kirchhoff's voltage and current laws. Signal flow modeling approaches is an abstraction towards a non-conservative description, single quantity (voltage or current, not both) but still continuous in time. Further abstraction can be realized to data flow modeling approaches (discrete-time) or alternatively discrete-event modeling, or even transaction level.

SystemC-AMS allows you to model at different levels of abstraction, depending on the analog functionality or behaviour you would like to capture.

This is not only for analog subsystems, but also for digital subsystems. For example SystemC-AMS is very efficient to model Digital Signal Processing functions like FIR filters or IQ modulators/demodulators.