SystemC TLM comparison using DMI with No DMI

Good day.

I am new to SystemC and TLM.

Here I am implementing producer-consumer model with a bus and memory model. The synchronization between producer-consumer is done using semaphore. I add DMI feature to the simulation. So the idea is to give producer direct access to the memory region. The same goes for the consumer. What I expect from doing this is to gain faster simulation time.

However, at some point of my experiment it shows that using DMI takes longer simulation time. 

Is this normal to happen? Or I might implement the DMI in the wrong way?

Thank you.

Best regards,

Li.

When using DMI, the initiator is responsible for modelling read/write latencies, since no explicit transactions are generated for each access. Unless your processor model adds additional delays for the direct memory accesses internally, it is expected that DMI does not consume simulation time. 

To approximate the access delays, the target (and the interconnect in-between) can fill the latency fields in the tlm_dmi structure during the get_direct_mem_ptr call, when granting the DMI access to the initiator:

class tlm_dmi
{
public:
// ...
  sc_core::sc_time get_read_latency() const;
  sc_core::sc_time get_write_latency() const;
// ...
  void set_read_latency(sc_core::sc_time t);
  void set_write_latency(sc_core::sc_time t);
};

For more information, see IEEE 1666-2011, Section 11.2.

Greetings from Oldenburg,
  Philipp

Hi Philipp,

I am aware that there are several time information within a simulation. One is real simulation time and the other is total simulation time (sys+user).
It is true that the total simulation time is always 0 (zero). My coding style is LT and I am creating the platform model in PV.

Attached below is write function within the producer class. 

// Write using DMI
bool producer::write_block(const sc_dt::uint64 & addr, unsigned int length, unsigned int *data) {
	vector<tlm_dmi>::iterator i;