How to get/use the written/read event of sc_fifo?

yatung

Hello Everyone,

I am a beginner at systemc.

I am interested in sc_fifo channel and investigated the OSCI simulator source code.

I found sc_fifo has a member function named "data_written_event" and its prototype is like below:

virtual const sc_event& data_written_event() const;

I want to get a callback/notify when a specific sc_fifo channel is written or read. My solution is:

- Preface

I used the sc_get_top_level_objects() and get_child_objects() to iterate out all the sc_object.

(This is the way I get the sc_fifo object)

- Make a callback/sensitive by user code

1. Try to get the written/read event data member of sc_fifo

2. Use the add_static() member function of sc_event to register a written/read event callback

for this sc_fifo

Is the solution above workable?

----------------------------------------------

- My Test Result

==> Because of the "operator=" is overwritten as private:

sc_fifo& operator = ( const sc_fifo<T>& );

I canNOT get the event in user code.

ex: sc_event e; e = sc_fifo_obj->data_written_event(); //<-- Error! Of course.

2. add_static() is s private member function of sc_event class and I can neither use it in

user code.

Can you experts guide me how to do it or give me any hint?

Appreciate your feedback.

by yaTung

I am interested in sc_fifo channel and investigated the OSCI simulator source code.

First of all, you should refer to the standardized API in the IEEE Std. 1666-2011, instead of looking at the source code of the proof-of-concept implementation. This way you make sure that your solution works in other standards-compliant implementations as well.

I want to get a callback/notify when a specific sc_fifo channel is written or read. My solution is:

- Preface

I used the sc_get_top_level_objects() and get_child_objects() to iterate out all the sc_object.

(This is the way I get the sc_fifo object)