SystemC catching/rethrowing standard exceptions is harmful?

Roman Popov

Disclaimer: I'm not an expert in C++ exceptions field.

I've noticed that SystemC catches / re-throws standard exceptions. Why it does so?

In practice that complicates debugging: instead of having a stacktrace to place where exception was originally thrown, I have a stack trace to place where systemc catches/rethrows it, which is not helpful at all.

Should it be better to only catch sc_report?

Hi,

I'm not an implementer of the reference simulator but as far as I can judge the re-throw is used to find a more specific type of exception (since sc_elab_and_sim() just uses a catch-all) and uses sc_handle_exception() to convert it into an sc_report so it can be handled by the SystemC reproting system. Actually I agree it would be better to handle it directly in sc_elab_and_sim() but this would duplicate code.

A side note rgd. debugging: if you use gdb there is a command 'catch throw' which stops execution right at the point where the (original) exception is thrown. This comes pretty handy in such cases.

Best regards

Hi Roman,

I can give some background here, as I'm guilty of the current implementation.

The kernel also needs to handle exceptions that are escaping SystemC thread processes.  These are originally thrown in a different stack and still need to be propagated to sc_main, i.e. the main thread in order to be able to still catch the exceptions there in user code.  The propagation across stacks has to be done by catching in one stack and rethrowing in another.

That said, exception handling not only covers sc_report, but also arbitrary exception types escaping sc_main or a SystemC thread.  We don't want to cause std::terminate to be called in case of uncaught exceptions, but want to properly propagate, catch and wind down the simulation.  Therefore, all exceptions are translated to standard sc_report objects before cross-stack propagation and are finally handled outside of sc_main.