A question of semaphore channel in SystemC

Carmichael

Hi everyone,

Recently, I am studying systemc and have a problem on semaphore channel.

Actually, I found an example of semaphore channel on asic world (http://www.asic-world.com/systemc/channels3.html). This example provides 3 processes (SC_CTHREAD): bus_semaphore(), do_read() and do_write(). like below,

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#include <systemc.h>

SC_MODULE (sc_semaphore_example) {
sc_in<bool> clock;

sc_semaphore bus;
int cnt;

void bus_semaphore() {
while (true) {
wait();
cout << "@" << sc_time_stamp() <<" Check if semaphore is 0 " << endl;
if (bus.get_value() == 0) {
cout << "@" << sc_time_stamp() <<" Posting 2 to semaphore " << endl;
bus.post();
bus.post();
if (cnt >= 3) {
sc_stop(); // sc_stop triggers end of simulation
}
cnt ++;
}
}
}

void do_read() {
while (true) {
wait();
cout << "@" << sc_time_stamp() <<" Checking semaphore for intance 0"<<endl;
// Check if semaphore is available
if (bus.trywait() != -1) {
cout << "@" << sc_time_stamp() <<" Got semaphore for intance 0"<<endl;
wait(2);
}
}
}

void do_write() {
while (true) {
wait();
cout << "@" << sc_time_stamp() <<" Checking semaphore for intance 1"<<endl;
// Wait till semaphore is available
bus.wait();
cout << "@" << sc_time_stamp() <<" Got semaphore for intance 1"<<endl;
wait(3);
}
}

SC_CTOR(sc_semaphore_example) : bus(0){
cnt = 0;
SC_CTHREAD(do_read,clock.pos());
SC_CTHREAD(do_write,clock.pos());
SC_CTHREAD(bus_semaphore,clock.pos());
}
};

int sc_main (int argc, char* argv[]) {
sc_clock clock ("my_clock",1,0.5);

sc_semaphore_example object("semaphore");
object.clock (clock.signal());

sc_start(0); // First time called will init schedular
sc_start(); // Run the simulation till sc_stop is encountered
return 0;// Terminate simulation
}
===================== simulation result given ====================
@1 ns Check if semaphore is 0
@1 ns Posting 2 to semaphore